Forgot your password?

Enter the email address for your account and we'll send you a verification to reset your password.

Your email address
Your new password
In the 12th season of the Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 9 wickets in the last match of the group stage. With the loss, Sunrisers Hyderabad became the fourth team to reach the playoffs. Both Kolkata and Hyderabad have 12-12 points in 14-14 matches, but SunRisers have been able to qualify for the playoff due to the net run-rate.

For the first time in the history of IPL, a team has reached the playoff after winning 6 matches. To go to the playoffs, Kolkata had to win this match or have to maintain their net run rates better, but they failed to achieve both either. This was the ninth victory in 14 matches for Mumbai, while Kolkata had to face 8th defeat in so many matches.

In this match played at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai won the toss and decided to bowl. Earlier, batting first, Kolkata scored 133 for 7 in 20 overs. Chasing the target, Mumbai won the match by scoring 134 runs in 16.1 overs. Rohit Sharma (55) and Suryakumar Yadav (unbeaten 46) were the other notable scorers for Mumbai. Mumbai’s Hardik Pandya was awarded the Man of the Match.

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma completed his half-century off 44 balls with the help of 4 fours and 1 six. Quinton de Coco finished with 30 runs off 23 balls. Wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik, who ran a long distance from famous Krishna’s wicket, caught him caught

Chris Lynn top scored with 41 runs for Kolkata. Robin Uthappa also scored 40 runs. Nitish Rana contributed 26 runs. Apart from these three, none of Kolkata’s batsmen reached the double digits. Jaspreet Bumrah of Mumbai took 2 wickets in the last two balls of Kolkata innings. Apart from them, Lasith Malinga got 3 and Hardik Pandya took 2 wickets.

Kolkata scored 49 runs without losing a wicket in the Power Play but Hardik dismissed Shubhaman Gill (9 runs) on the first ball of the 7th over. Lynn (41 runs) also took wickets Wardick. Malinga took the wicket of Nitish Rana. Nitish scored 26 runs off 13 balls with the help of three sixes. Kieron Pollard caught his catch at long off Uthappa scored 40 runs from 47 balls with the help of 1 four and 3 sixes. This was also the 150th match for Mumbai Indians for Rohit.

For more interesting stories, Download the Lopscoop application from Google play store and earn extra money by sharing it on social media.

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Add you Response

  • Please add your comment.