Forgot your password?

Enter the email address for your account and we'll send you a verification to reset your password.

Your email address
Your new password
We all know the value of Cricket World Cup in the game of cricke as all of the leagues stand low in front of this and we eagerly wait for the event to take place. We have to wait long enough for the World Cup as it takes place in a gap of 4 years, and till now only 11 World Cups have happened. The first One Day International cricket was played in the year 1971 between Australia and England, so obviously the World Cup would have started after that as it goes on the limited over format of cricket. It started in the year 1975, that is after 4 years of the first ODI match. West Indies was a champion team at that time with some exceptional talents, and they won the first two World Cups that of year 1975, and 1979 under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd, both of which had been hosted in England.

Even the third World Cup was organised in England in the year 1983, which turned out to be the first win for the Indian Cricket Team under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. From the next World Cup, the host country started to be other than England and Indian-Pakistan were the first different hosts of World Cup in the year 1987. We are going to mention the winners of all of the 11 World Cups in the list below.

1975 – West Indies ( Clive Llyod )

1979 – West Indies ( Clive Llyod )

1983 – India ( Kapil Dev )

1987 – Australia ( Allan Border )

1992 – Pakistan ( Imran Khan )

1996 – Sri Lanka ( Arjuna Ranatunga )

1999 – Australia ( Steve Waugh )

2003 – Australia ( Ricky Ponting )

2007 – Australia ( Ricky Ponting )

2011 – India ( M S Dhoni )

2015 – Australia ( Michael Clarke )

From a total of 20 teams participating in the tournament, it went down to 14 in the last World Cup in the year 2015. The highest ranking teams are automatically qualified for the World Cup, and this year there would only be 10 teams in the tournament. From the figures you can see that Australia has won the World Cup most number of times that is 5, with West Indies and India on the second spot with 2 wins and the two other teams that have won the cup are Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. There are still some top notch teams like England, New Zealand, and South Africa who haven’t been able to bring the cup home. Let us see how the 2019 World Cup hosted by England and Wales goes, and which team wins the cup. The World Cup is going to start from the 30th of May, 2019 and will go on till 14th July, 2019.

For more interesting stories, Download the Lopscoop application from Google play store and earn extra money by sharing it on social media.
- Rajat Priyam
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Add you Response

  • Please add your comment.