Forgot your password?

Enter the email address for your account and we'll send you a verification to reset your password.

Your email address
Your new password
The Centre on Monday decided that the long pending demand of Ladakh to be converted into Union territory will be fulfilled along with the scrapping of Article 370. Jammu and Kashmir which included Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh would now be converted into 2 Union Territory. Here is everything you would want to know about the new union territory of India.

Firstly it is important to understand the basic difference between state and a Union territory. While a state is an administrative unit controlled by the elected government and can formulate its own laws by setting legislative assembly a union territory is controlled by the union and cannot usually formulate its laws.

State: Elected government
Union Territory:  Control by Union government

State: Governor is the head
Union Territory:  President acts as an executive head.

Union territory with the legislature: Can form laws by setting legislative assembly
Union territory without legislature: Cannot set legislative assembly

After the government decision, Ladakh which was earlier part of Jammu and Kashmir will now be a separate Union territory without legislature. There would be thus 28 states and 9 Union territories.

Before: Part of J&K
Now- Separate Union territory without legislature 

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="">#Ladakh</a> to become Union territory without legislature; people celebrate in Leh Main Bazaar <a href=""></a></p>— Doordarshan News (@DDNewsLive) <a href="">August 6, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="" charset="utf-8"></script>

For more interesting stories, Download the Lopscoop application from Google play store and earn extra money by sharing it on social media.

Author- Neha Wadhwa
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Add you Response

  • Please add your comment.